Bring on the New Year: resolve to smile at life!

I wasn’t going to do a daggy, self-indulgent list of New Year’s resolutions on my blog, but gah, why not? (7 down on my list of resolutions tells me to stop being embarrassed so easily therefore indirectly tells me to embrace the corny uncoolness of putting my personal, heartfelt pledges out there for all to see) So here goes…

I herby resolve to:

Treat my body as my passion, not my obsession.

It’s wonderful to be on this health journey, but I have no desire for it to be all consuming. I believe it pays to be a little flexible, especially when it comes to living with others. I have no time for scales, calories, restrictions and regrets. All these things compromise my body, my thoughts and suppress my spirit. How can I enjoy life when I’m obsessing about a number or trying to fit into an unrealistic social ideal?

Appreciating my body for what it does at a cellular, biochemical level, is one of the best things I could have possibly learnt in the past year. Trust me, pursuing physical perfection at all costs and obsessing about my appearance did not bring me happiness, quite the opposite. This year, it’ll be all about loving what I’ve got, warts and all.

“To love one’s self is the beginning of a lifelong romance.” ~ Oscar Wilde

Strive for progress, but not get caught up in perfection.

I’m a sucker for the ‘all or nothing’ mentality; to be able to ‘slip up’ a little without falling off the wagon in spectacular style has not come easily to me. But truly, to falter is not a step backwards, it’s just a leaning curb and all part of the process. I’m not aiming to turn my back on all I now know and slide back into an acidic diet and lifestyle. But when I do drink too much, eat the wrong things, or spend a few days without exercise – there’s no point obsessing afterwards over what’s done and dusted and now in the past. It’s about getting up, moving on and learning what feels best for my body. This lifestyle journey is not linear, and I’ll take the ups and downs as they come. I’m happy to be perfectly imperfect to allow myself to enjoy the process thankyouverymuch.  

“It is the direction that matters, not the speed. If you are evolving into a more loving, more compassionate, less violent person; then you are moving in the right direction. You may become distracted, make wrong turns at times, lost until you find the way back… that’s how it works when we’re in human form… we’re not really going backwards. We are consolidating and resting. ~ Brian Weiss, Messages from the Masters

Certainly you always want to do your best. Just make sure that getting it done takes priority over getting it perfect. ~ Ralph Marston


Make juicing a priority.

Green vegetable juice, quite simply, is the purest, most concentrated form of life force energy available for us to consume. It’s an invaluable tool when you’re trying to overcome the waste of years worth of acidic foods and an acidic lifestyle by flooding the body with negatively charged alkalinity. Power to the green vegetable juice and a daily cup of sunshine!

Set aside time for daily relaxation, reflection and meditation.

Relaxation does not come naturally to me! Let alone reflection or mediation. As much as I believe that what we physically consume and release is a big part of our health, a healthy body and a healthy mind go hand in hand. You can’t really have one without the other, which is why I’m aiming to set aside time daily switch off my mind from all the gibberish that goes through it all day long and find some mental peace and quiet. 

“Learning to ignore things is one of the great paths to inner peace.” Robert J. Sawyer

“Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits.” 
Satchel Paige


Get outdoors often, move my body and enjoy the sunshine.

If there’s one thing that seems to set me up for an enjoyable day, it’s getting some fresh air. This past year, I’ve made peace with the fact that partaking in strenuous exercise (with rare exception) is just not my cup of tea. I don’t like to sweat, especially not indoors which means that I’m never going to be one of those people who love to slog it out hard in the gym. And that’s ok! I believe in keeping the body fluid, and that committing to everyday movement is important. I see a little yoga en plein air in my future!

Have more patience; with myself, with the situation, with others.

They say patience is a virtue, sadly it’s not one of mine. I get grouchy, I snap, I chuck tantrums, I’m a pain… mostly to those nearest and dearest to me. I’ve got to learn to go with the flow a little, I should drop the ‘meltdown’ in ‘meltdown Mondays’ (and I didn’t name them that). Things don’t always turn out the way I want them to, and that’s ok – sometimes better! When I do manage to practice a little patience, it seems to make my whole world (and probably others’) a lot less stressful. I’m going to try not to let the little things bother me this year – I’ll let them pleasantly amuse me! 

Instead of letting the little things get to you, just let them pleasantly amuse you. Then quickly and completely let them go. ~ Ralph Marston 

Be true to myself, and what I believe. 

I get weird looks when I drink wacky-coloured ‘shrek’ juice, fill the communal fridge at work with ridiculous amounts of leafy greens, dig in to whole ‘naked’ avocados or ‘troughs of rabbit food’ (all as described by a co-workers), close my eyes for a minute or two to relax in public, or stamp and throw my limbs around like a crazy lady to release some tension. But who really cares?! I’ve spent far too much time worrying about what others might think of me, being caught up in self-consciousness and embarrassment, and second-guessing peoples’ opinions. I’ll shout from the rooftops (or perhaps chat from a comfy spot on the couch) about the merits of living a natural lifestyle, and eat my hugeass salads with pride!

Smile often, and laugh loudly.

It’s hard to be down when you’re cracking a smile right? Laughter is the best medicine of all!

“I have found that if you love life, life will love you back.” ~ Arthur Rubinstein

Breathe deeply, let go, and enjoy the ride.

A good friend once told me to ‘open my heart to the universe’, and see what the universe gives me back. Sounds cheesy, but who knows what this year will bring if I do?


Life is simply beautiful.

Wishing you all a happy New Year.

Kate x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bring on the New Year: resolve to smile at life!

  1. oh wow, what a beautiful post!! I was just working on my New Year goals, and this has just inspired me 🙂 Thank you!

  2. I’m looking forward to reading yours! xo

  3. AnnaO says:

    Love this, thank you 🙂

  4. bonne_santé says:

    Hell, I could have written this list – not as beautifully worded and inspiring mind you, but it’s going to be totally awkward when my ridiculously similar goals for ’11 go up on Bonne Santé later today!…oh dear.
    This post has officially made my day; thank you, as always for sharing your insightful, honest, ‘warts & all’ thoughts and philosophies. Though I am disappointed by lack of actual warts. Do you think we should grow a few in order to practice some literal acceptance?
    Anyway, happy new year! I have a feeling 2011 is going to be better than ever, and as long as being kind to ourselves, surrounding ourselves with fantastic people and appreciating all that life gives us is a priority, we are on the road to limitless health & happiness. And perhaps a career in motivational speaking. Good luck with your resolutions!

  5. jjaci says:

    Fantastic list, getting lots of inspiration from all of these great lists…I could have written a lot of these ones, too. Especially being true to myself and not stressing about what people think of me, because I do that constantly in my day to day life and it’s only causing me grief.

Leave a Reply

