Getting back on track

Last week I turned 23! I got spoilt rotten and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it 🙂

However, with all the birthday celebrations going on, I feel like in the past week I’ve indulged in ridiculous amounts of chocolate, FAR too much sugar, and have gone totally overboard in the alcohol department. It was all good fun at the time, but it’s left me feeling sluggish, tired and lacking in energy.

So, this weekend was about getting my diet back on track and getting that energy back!

My number one way to do this is to get back into juicing daily. It’s the most easily digestible, efficient way to flood the body with alkalinity, especially after a few days of overdosing on an overly acidic diet and lifestyle.

A green juice pick-me-up

Secondly, fresh air! I swear, I never have great days when I forego my morning walk to work. It’s not like I go for an all-out sweat session, all I need is a little fresh air in the morning and this seems to have a favourable domino-type effect on the rest of the day.

10 days until Summer! My birthday always coincides with the Jacarandas blooming

Food-wise, today I was feeling Asian-inspired, and decided to experiment with some new healthy recipes! I usually keep my meals really simple, and I’ve honestly lost the patience and even the taste for overly complicated meals. Give me a baked sweet potato and a big avocado salad and I’m one happy camper. However, I think reading all the amazing food blogs out there has got me inspired to try something a little trickier…

Enoki 'noodle' salad

When I try to get clever with recipes the results are usually so-so at best, however this dish turned out ridiculously well if I do say so myself!

Enoki ‘Noodle’ Salad
Inspired by this talented veggie chef’s recipe
Serves 1
(note: I don’t really ‘do’ measurements, sorry!)

large handful fresh raw enoki mushrooms
1 medium zucchini, peeled
‘glug’ of Japanese ponzu (citrus seasoned soy sauce)
dash of fish sauce
dash of sushi vinegar (or brown rice vinegar)
1 tsp sesame oil
¼ tsp chilli pepper seasoning*
sesame seeds, chilli and lime, to garnish
*the mix I used was a blend of chilli pepper, orange peel, sesame seeds, ginger and seaweed

Trim the mushies and julienne the zucchini

First, trim the mushrooms and julienne/spiralise/shred the zucchini (I used a mandolin for this which worked nicely). Whisk together the ponzu, fish sauce, sushi vinegar and sesame oil. Pour over the zucchini and mushroom mixture and toss through. Set aside to marinate for 5 minutes or so before serving.

Enoki salad, sans dressing

I thoroughly enjoyed this salad over a green cabbage leaf, topped it off with some black sesame seeds, a little chilli and a squeeze of fresh lime.                                        

The finished product

Second course…

Raw sushi!!

Raw Sushi
Serves 1 as a small dish

1 cup cauliflower florets*
1 tbs Japanese sushi vinegar
1 sheet untoasted nori
1 tsp grated ginger
raw vegetables, to fill
tamari, to serve
*daikon radish or parsnip would also work well

Pulse the cauliflower until it reaches the consistency of rice

Cauliflower 'rice'

 Pulse the cauliflower in a food processor until it takes on a ‘rice’-like texture. Stir through the sushi vinegar and set aside.

Spread out the 'rice', nearly to the edges

Top with your fillings

Next, lay out the nori sheet on a clean(ish) chopping board. I couldn’t find mine, but a sushi mat would definitely have come in handy at this point. Spread the cauliflower mixture evenly over the sheet of nori, almost to the edges like shown. Then, top with the freshly grated ginger and whatever raw vegetables you have on hand (I used plain old carrot and a little fresh silverbeet. Avocado would have worked brilliantly but my stock had been depleted!). Slowly, roll up from the bottom, pressing firmly against the chopping board to roll as tightly as possible. Using a sharp knife, slice the sushi roll into about 8 disks and serve with some tamari to dip. Surprisingly awesome!

A little time-consuming, but fun for a change!

I also had a bowl of more sushi ‘rice’, topped with grated carrot and dulse flakes.

Sushi 'rice' bowl

And of course, no dinner is complete without dessert!

I’ve LOVE coconut and I’ve been craving coconut macaroons all week. Most traditional recipes call for egg whites and sugar (not to mention baking!), but I decided to experiment with my own, simpler (and slightly less dense) version. It actually turned out really well!

Raw carrot & coconut macaroons

Raw Coconut & Carrot Macaroons
Inspired by Marlena’s recipe
Makes about 3 macaroons

 ¼ cup unsulfured, unsweetened desiccated coconut
¼ cup finely grated carrot (I used a zester)
1.5 tsp unheated organic honey*
1 tsp raw coconut oil, warmed slightly
*you could use more honey, I just don’t like my desserts overly sweet   

All you have to do is combine all the ingredients, roll into balls, and set in the freezer for about 5-10 minutes (that is if you are more patient than me… I waited about 30 seconds). So simple! (Ok, so clearly when I said these recipes were ‘trickier’, I just meant trickier for me!). You could also add a number of other ingredients such as vanilla essence, carob powder, orange zest, cacao powder, cinnamon etc if you wanted to jazz up the flavour a bit, but I like these plain. These are definitely going to be a staple 🙂 

This entry was posted in acidosis, cleanse, detox, green juice, raw food, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Getting back on track

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan says:

    I LOVE raw sushi! What a great collection of raw eats and treats. 🙂

  2. bonne_santé says:

    Not a fan of measurements?! THAT sure sounds familiar! Love the recipes though, my my they look SO TASTY! I pine for a food processor.
    Also, Happy Birthday! Looks like you had an awesome birthday week! (Although, I personally demand month-long festivities; hope you milk it for as long as possible!)
    Really enjoy the personal + foodie posts – your life looks delicious 😀

  3. jjaci says:

    Happy belated birthday! I turned 23 this year too, a good number, goood number.

    Your sushi looks so pretty, and in the pictures the cauliflower seriously looks like rice. It’s an awesome idea.

    The dessert also sounds yummy, now i’m craving carrotty things.

  4. Green juice, fresh air, sushi and macaroons sound like the secret to getting back on track to me! I’m so glad that you were inspired by the coconut/carrot macaroon combo! The carrot is so great because it is sweet but not toooo sweet. Yum!

  5. I want some of that raw sushi right now! Everything looks delicious!!

  6. your sushi looks so good! november baby here too, best month no? 🙂

Leave a Reply

